Home > Government > Law


Site Listings

  • Constitution of Puerto Rico
  • Foraker Act (Organic Act of 1900) - On April 2, 1900, U.S. President McKinley signed a civil law that established a civilian government in Puerto Rico.
  • House Approves Ballot On Puerto Rico's Status - "The bill, H.R. 856, will give Puerto Ricans the ballot choices of continued commonwealth status, independence or statehood. It passed the ..."
  • Jones Act - On March 2, 1917, President Woodrow Wilson signed the Jones-Shafroth Act. This law gave Puerto Ricans U.S. citizenship.
  • Treaty of Paris of 1898 - Commissioners from the United States and Spain met in Paris on October 1, 1898 to produce a treaty that would bring an end to the war after six months of hostilities.